get some air

I worry – really worry – about the kids I take care of at school falling out of trees, and breaking their arms. I don’t let them run with sticks because I don’t want them gouging out any eyeballs. Not even one.

I happily let them fall in puddles, and get hit in the face with soccer balls because it teaches them so much (when to, ahem, duck; the importance of paying attention; why a good pair of boots is invaluable; how/why to stop a game and make sure your friend and/or classmate who drives you nuts isn’t hurt) but I would never not-in-a-million-years let them hang out of a train like this.

But the girl in this photo looks like she knows how not to fall out of that train, and there are probably a world of things things that have prepared her for that. I don’t think I’m too strict with the kids. I don’t think I hover. But thank goodness they do things – at home, far away from me, and sometimes under my care – that push their limits. They’re learning real risks and rewards while they’re young and their bones (though probably not their eyeballs) mend quickly.

This entry was posted in visual inspiration, working with kids. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

